Why I Became A Travel Agent

I get asked often, how did you become to be a travel agent? The first few times I was asked this, I probably looked like that deer you see in your headlights when you are driving home. Why would someone ask this question is what I thought? Then one day I was talking to doctor and I asked him, “How did you decide to become a doctor?” Half way through that question I paused for a second and realized I need to make sure I have my answer ready for when I’m asked why I became a travel agent.

First, a little about my background, I grew up on a farm in a small Wisconsin town not too far from Madison. We grow vegetables and flowers to sell at the farmer’s markets in and around Madison during the summer.  How does a rural farm boy become interested in travel? I’m not real sure but as I think about it more reasons come to mind.rjl_1943_#1_0

I LOVE to travel!

Being a Wisconsin farm boy and working all summer long, I love to get away in the winter. My preferred destination is anywhere warm and near water. Hawaii is one of my favorite places because of the tropical weather and the laid back atmosphere. What is a better way to escape a Wisconsin February than to fly to Hawaii?Picture 033

I LOVE to research trips.

I love to sit down and start learning about a destination. It doesn’t mater if I’m going there or not; I want to learn more about it.

Google Brain

Your big online agencies are not always the best

Yes, I am talking about those sites like Expedia, Orbitz, and Travelocity. Going back to the part of me researching my trips, I often found that these sites were not the cheapest way to book a trip. They often do not provide you with all the flights that are available and if you have a question…well, I hope you can give up a half a day to sit on hold when you call them.

bad-customer-service 2

I LOVE helping others make memories

Last but certainly not the least, I LOVE helping others plan a vacation they will remember for years. I strive to make their vacation planning easy so they can sit back and relax leading up to their vacation. I am there to help if problems arise during their travels. Finally, I love to hear about their vacation when they get back. Nothing makes me happier than to hear about an awesome time clients had on their vacation.

Categories: blogs, family, travel, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Why I Became A Travel Agent

  1. Pingback: Driven by Memories | CardinalTravels

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

